help im new is this how it works??

New to renewable energy? Have questions? Here's a great place to ask them and view information about wind and solar power basics.

help im new is this how it works??

Postby sozo13 » Mon May 04, 2015 2:45 pm

I recently got this stuff for near nothing ...im new to solar setups and due to some harsh chemo therapy recently ..feel like I have the focus of a 9 year old with ADD and a bag of candy...so my eyes glaze over on some of the calculation for running x and y for z hours on this and that ...so sorry if this comes off a bit scattered .but heres what I have and heres what I want to do. how far off am I with what I have ..

4 120 watt matching Kyocera panels 7.1 max amp
1 2210 tracer mppt controller 20 amp 12v/260 24v/520
4 6v 220 ah gc2 6v batteries
1 300 watt pure sine inverter

my current plan is to get the 4 panels going as series/parallel 480w 14.2 amp @ 24v ? if i understand the way it works ..
connected to the 4 6v batteries set up as a 440 12v bank

does this sound correct ..and will the mppt do this ...any major issues with this I don't understand??
sozo13
Solar Supporter
Solar Supporter

Re: help im new is this how it works??

Postby Gordon-Loomberah » Mon May 04, 2015 3:54 pm

Welcome to the Energy Matters Forums sozo13 :)

One problem is the voltage- if you go for a 12V battery with 2S2P for your 6V batteries, you have too many panels (480W) for the Tracer 2210, which has a max DC input of 260W for a 12V battery. If you configured them as a 24V battery, then the Tracer can handle 520W input.
You could connect all 4 panels in series for a 24V battery.

Be careful with the standby load of the inverter, some of the less expensive imported units use a lot of power continuously, even when you have nothing plugged in and running.

How old are the batteries?
http://gunagulla.com Loomberah weather and astronomy including live solar radiation intensity and UV + Gunagulla aquaponics, organic eggs and cherries
Gordon-Loomberah