Newby experiment going wrong

New to renewable energy? Have questions? Here's a great place to ask them and view information about wind and solar power basics.

Newby experiment going wrong

Postby melmik » Sun Mar 11, 2012 10:58 am

Hi, I'm just learning about solar. we have a 2kW system on our home, but I want to know more so I've patched together some cheap bits and pieces to play around and learn.

I got a cheap 10W 0.98A 12volt panel, a Solar CMP 12/24 12A regulator, an old portable cooler 12volt 0.28A fan and an old 12volt 7Ah/20Hr UPS battery.

The battery is still fine, charges up from a 240volt car battery charger and holds the charge.

I wired the battery to the regulator, and the load light comes on the regulator, plus 2 of the 3 red 'battery charge status' lights.

I then wired the panel to the regulator and placed it on the roof.

Then wired the fan to the regulator.

No change in lights.

Turn fan on and it works fine.

The battery status stays on 2 lights during the day, which I assumed was normal, and then depletes overnight to the point where the regulator shuts it down to save the battery from fully draining. All OK?

Possible problem: The regulator has a Charge light, which supposedly comes on when it is charging. The only way I can get it to light is by disconnecting the battery, and then it doesnt have eneough power to run the fan. The only way to run the fan is by connecting the battery into the regulator. the battery doesnt seem to charge from the panel - it is now down to one red charge light, plus the load light comes on as soon as the battery is connected to the reg.

I've probably stuffed up my sums due to my very basic understanding of Amps, Watts and Volts, but I thought it would work by the panel charging the battery enough to run the fan during the day and overnight, slowly depleting the battery until the panel came back online the next day.