Page 1 of 2

PFIT

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 10:34 pm
by woolly1
Just a quick question, I am in the Macedon Ranges and am looking to install a solar/battery hybrid system. Now the curly one. I am currently getting the PFIT from a 3.3kW system I had installed a few years ago. If I install a separate 5kW solar system with around 7.2kWh of storage, will I lose that PFIT? I am after a system that will charge the batteries for the evenings, and after they are charged, put the excess power into the house with zero export to the grid thus freeing up my existing system to export it's total output. To date I haven't got a definitive answer from my retailer, or should I be asking the supplier instead?

Re: PFIT

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2015 9:45 am
by davidg
woolly1 wrote:currently getting the PFIT from a 3.3kW system I had installed a few years ago. If I install a separate 5kW solar system with around 7.2kWh of storage, will I lose that PFIT? I am after a system that will charge the batteries for the evenings, and after they are charged, put the excess power into the house with zero export to the grid


The regs about the PFIT are clear ANY alteration means you will loose the PFIT.

However if you to install an "off-grid" system. It is NOT an alteration to the existing system and the existing grid connection, therefore that's OK, at least at this point in time. I've designed and installed a few "off-grid" systems now exactly for the reason that otherwise the PFIT is lost. 8-)

Re: PFIT

PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2015 3:54 pm
by woolly1
I see what you mean, but I am not altering the system I installed. I am adding an alternative supply to the premises. No different than running a generator I would think.

Re: PFIT

PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2015 3:58 pm
by woolly1
So, if I was to install an "off grid" system, what would that entail?

Re: PFIT

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:43 pm
by GaryG
Just reading the posts in this topic got me thinking that even if the off-grid system was separate, if the idea is to have that provide power to the house and use the PFiT system to generate income, wouldn't you have to "disconnect" the PFiT system from the house so you didn't use any of the power it generated?

Or how would you insure it all went into the grid?

Re: PFIT

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 9:19 pm
by davidg
GaryG wrote:wouldn't you have to "disconnect" the PFiT system from the house so you didn't use any of the power it generated?

No. ;) you disconnect the house from the grid. I know it sounds nutty but that's actually the correct way of describing it.

GaryG wrote:insure it all went into the grid?

Yes. 8-) it will once the above is done, I've done it more than once for clients.

Re: PFIT

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 9:27 pm
by GaryG
davidg wrote:
GaryG wrote:wouldn't you have to "disconnect" the PFiT system from the house so you didn't use any of the power it generated?

No. ;) you disconnect the house from the grid. I know it sounds nutty but that's actually the correct way of describing it.

And that avoids any risk of losing your PFiT?

Interesting then. So the off-grid system plus storage has to generate enough to leave you self sufficient?

Is it doable on a small inner urban city block?

Re: PFIT

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 9:28 am
by Gordon-Loomberah
You could still use your PFiT system to charge the batteries when they get too low, to save having to buy a generator. Just have one GPO for a charger.

Re: PFIT

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 6:47 pm
by woolly1
davidg wrote:No. ;) you disconnect the house from the grid.


So if I install a stand alone, off grid system and a relay/device/something that disconnects the house from the grid, I can do it? I have seen inverters that are certified as "zero export" and there is a device from a Qld company that is just that, a "zero export module". If something like that is installed, would that be OK?

In saying that, as you have done it before for others, fancy a drive to Woodend?

Re: PFIT

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 10:18 pm
by davidg
woolly1 wrote:So if I install a stand alone, off grid system and a relay/device/something that disconnects the house from the grid, I can do it?

yes and no, it's a bit more specific than that.

woolly1 wrote:I have seen inverters that are certified as "zero export" and there is a device from a Qld company that is just that, a "zero export module". If something like that is installed, would that be OK?

No, Victoria is "special" and the Vic distributors are all about protecting "profits", it's been over year waiting for certification of a couple products to be approved for installation for zero export, still not approved but very close, finally.

woolly1 wrote:In saying that, as you have done it before for others, fancy a drive to Woodend?

Been out that in the past, :)