Solar hot water - best way to deal with excess heat?

New to renewable energy? Have questions? Here's a great place to ask them and view information about wind and solar power basics.

Solar hot water - best way to deal with excess heat?

Postby dmshimself » Fri Jan 03, 2020 7:33 am

Hi - I've inherited a solar hot water system and it works fine, but I wondered if it is dealing with excess heat in the best way. The controller stops pumpng to the evacuated tubes when the hot water tank gets too much hot water and then the evacuted tubes on the roof have a steam valve to which allows the water in the tubes to boil off.

As we are on tank water, the idea of wasting water to steam doesn't seem great, but I guess the excess energy has to go somewhere.

I have little practical experience of solar hot water, so any advice appreciated. In particular, are there better ways of dealing with having too much heat comming in?
dmshimself
Solar Supporter
Solar Supporter

Re: Solar hot water - best way to deal with excess heat?

Postby australsolarier » Sat Jan 04, 2020 6:35 am

that is how it works. the pump stops and the bit of water that is in the manifold boils. it is only a very small amount of water. (obviously as the pump stops no more water gets pumped up to the manifold).
australsolarier
Solar Crusader
Solar Crusader

Postby dmshimself » Sat Jan 04, 2020 7:33 am

A cupful sounds very reasonable. Thanks for the info. Much appreciated
dmshimself
Solar Supporter
Solar Supporter

Postby davef » Tue Jan 28, 2020 4:48 am

dmshimself,

Not that it helps with the loss of water but my system has a thermal relief valve on the hot water tank that dumps water BEFORE the system gets hot enough for the "steam valve" to actuate.

What happens when all the water in the tubes has boiled off? Does the pump come on to force more water into the collector?
davef
Solar Evangelist
Solar Evangelist

Postby australsolarier » Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:04 am

dmshimself
his system works differently.