How does it work the solar market in Australia?

New to renewable energy? Have questions? Here's a great place to ask them and view information about wind and solar power basics.

How does it work the solar market in Australia?

Postby mateuslima » Wed Dec 25, 2019 2:47 am

Good afternoon guys!

First, let me introduce myself. My name is Mateus Lima, I'm an Electrical Engineer currently working in the solar area and trying to learn more about the australian solar market.

Here in Brazil we have what we call "integrators". They are companies that works by offering the project, the approval within the local energy companies and the installation of the system, but the solar panels and inverters are bought from a few huge companies that imports loads of equipments.

One big problem that we have here is the lack of professionalism from the integrators. These huge companies provides everything that someone needs to start a business, from spreadsheets to dimension the systems to financing solutions, and because of that basically anyone can work in this area here and as a result, a lot of systems doesnt perform as it should be. Mistakes like not considering shading or angles are kind of common in here.

What I'm tring to understand is that if the business model in Australia is similar to ours and if you guys have this kind of problems that we have in here. I'd like to know if the access of the solar market is as easy as here and if it faces similar problems like the ones that I mentioned.

Thanks in advance guys!
mateuslima
Solar Supporter
Solar Supporter

Re: How does it work the solar market in Australia?

Postby jaahn » Fri Jan 03, 2020 2:25 am

Hi Mateuslima :D
I do not work in the market so perhaps some others may write some professional comments.