Complete Newbie looking to install solar in Sydney

New to renewable energy? Have questions? Here's a great place to ask them and view information about wind and solar power basics.

Complete Newbie looking to install solar in Sydney

Postby Salty Dog » Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:39 am

Hi All,

New to the forum & completely uninitiated in all things solar.

We have a two storey house in Baulkham Hills, originally a 3 bedroom brick house but a large wooden clad lounge room has been added downstairs & another 3 wooden clad bedrooms on the top storey.

The house gets quite cold in winter. If the temperature gets above 40 degrees C at any stage in summer, the top floor seems to radiate heat into the whole house for the entire night.

The house came with a large ducted air conditioning system that we have found too expensive to use. The lady of the house hides up in a small room in the house running a little electric radiant heater in winter. The kid I tend to huddle up under sleeping bags in the lounge room.

We'd like to be able to make our house a bit more livable & hopefully cut down on the electricty bills as well.

My best guess at our average daily electricity consumption is aproximately 24kWh with about two thirds of it being peak.

Our latest peak daily rates in c/kWh
24.244 for the first 10.9589
23.397 for the next 8.2192
22.22 for the balance.

I like the idea of getting some well engineered high quality panels that will last & have high efficiency. I also like the idea of having an expandable system that is compatible with battery storage if the costs of solar &/or battery storage drop significantly in the future. I have to try & sell the lady of the house on whatever the up front costs are too though.

I haven't got any quotes yet as I'd prefer to know what I should be looking for & what to avoid prior to getting any pricing.