Deciding which motor to use for my 1st wind turbine

New to renewable energy? Have questions? Here's a great place to ask them and view information about wind and solar power basics.

Deciding which motor to use for my 1st wind turbine

Postby Elfiend » Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:42 am

Hey everyone, wind energy newbie here, wondered if I could get some advice on which of the following would be the best route to go or if I should find a more effective motor to build my first wind turbine.

1) GS 2hp Permanent Magnet Motor Ratings 15 Amps 130 VDC @ 6600 RPM
2) Baldor DC Industrial Treadmill Motor 3hp 15 Amps 180V 3200 RPM

If I calculated correctly the 1st motor I posted would need to spinning at about 609 RPM’s to produce 12V and the 2nd one seems more promising since it would produce 12v at 213 RPM’s or so. I think the 1st one needs to spin way too fast so what would my options be to make a wind turbine out of it? Gearing it? Amplifying voltage circuit?