Laundry Balls

General tips, questions and answers about going green in your home and business. Achieve a more environmentally friendly lifestyle!

Laundry Balls

Postby karlajensen » Sat Apr 09, 2011 2:18 pm

just got this from my sister, a fairly happy customer I'd suggest :D
Now that we've got the evergy savings, time to work on water, chemicals and of course helping more people into solar. :D

Anthea suffers from Chronic fatigue and as a result has changed her lifestyle significantly to include lots of healthy and sustainable living practises ........

Hi

Karl pointed out the laundry balls available online. http://www.laundryball.com.au/

No chemicals, no need for a rinse cycle, inexpensive, if they work.

I have been using these for about 6 months and report results as follows:

Saving loads of water on skipping rinse cycle for every load
No more (chemical) smelling clothes
Saving time & energy & stress - no need to take buckets/pipes out to the garden for the grey water use
Can now use better dishwashing cycle knowing I am saving on water fromwashing machine making this OK
Clothes are coming out clean
Saving lots of money on detergent
No environmental pollutants

So I asked this question:

If you don't believe the blue balls work, then the conclusion is this:

water alone is sufficient towash your clothes

Either way I am very happy and recommend these to others.

Love
Ant
8E + 8W + 8Nth Garage CMS2000-1 with ~4500W in 3 strings of 8.
Fronius Galvo 3.0 inverter with ~6.6kW panels
12x ZNShine + 12x 180W Solarfuns both NW + ZNShine 12x190 facing SE.
Edwards Solar Hot water

Luck Favours the well prepared.
karlajensen
Solar Crusader
Solar Crusader

Re: Laundry Balls

Postby Gordon-Loomberah » Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:22 pm

You can read all about them here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laundry_ball

We use soap nuts, which contain saponin, and find they work very well.