Green cleaning products

General tips, questions and answers about going green in your home and business. Achieve a more environmentally friendly lifestyle!

Green cleaning products

Postby Willchambers » Wed Feb 02, 2011 11:50 am

Hi everyone,
I am a university student from Adelaide, Australia and am currently looking at shopers perceptions of green cleaning products. I've been having a look around this forum and thought this would be a great place to get some reactions so if you could help me discuss your perceptions of green cleaning products, it would be greatly appreciated.

Who here uses green cleaning products (or products that claim to be eco-friendly)?

Why do you choose to buy environmentally safe cleaners over other cleaners?

Do you think they work as well as their non-eco counterparts? are they weak?

What do your friends think, are you seen as a bit dorky for buying them?

Anything you have to say on this will interest me so dont be shy! :D
Willchambers
Solar Supporter
Solar Supporter

Re: Green cleaning products

Postby zzsstt » Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:17 am

Many cleaning products are not required at all, and most need only be used in tiny quantities.

I use screwed up soggy newspaper in a bucket of water (perhaps with a dash of metho or vinegar) to clean windows, it works just as well as any commercial product.

In answer to the specific questions:

We use a mixture of "eco" and "normal" cleaning products.

We use them because we have no mains sewage service, so all our waste goes through a BioSeptic and then irrigates the garden. High salt content products kill the plants, and products that kill the organisms in the BioSeptic destroy the waste digestion process.

Do they work as well? They vary, but so do the normal products! Overall they probably don't work quite as well, for example we have stopped using a specific "eco" clothes wash product and now use a standard product that Lanfax tested as having a low salt content.