Heating Options in Newcastle

The greenest watt is the one you don't have to create. Energy efficiency is the low hanging fruit of greening our homes. Ask your questions or post your energy efficiency tips in here!

Heating Options in Newcastle

Postby Kombinations » Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:46 pm

[ Moderator - split from energy-efficiency/topic5559.html ]

This is an interesting discussion - and when I realised that it was actually still current/active (unlike many discussions on forums found via google searches) I had to sign up and add my query. By the way, as a maths teacher I quite liked the 'spambot' question that was posed when signing up.

I hope this isn't considered hijacking of this thread, but I'm in a situation where our old school (but not particularly old in terms of age) electric hot water system in our post war weatherboard cottage (in need of extension) is not big enough for our growing family. Particularly in winter, when I think the poor insulation of the system lets it down and we have very short showers and a small bath for the kids to share, and we're still boiling water for washing up (previously the house was owned by a single elderly lady, and I'm sure the system was fine for her use). We're looking at the pros and cons of electricity vs gas for both hot water and heating the house.

In terms of heating, we have a natural gas connection that is unused (so currently no service charge). We had inherited a newish unflued gas heater with the house and not having used gas previously, thought we'd start using it for a couple of months during the winter following our December purchase of the house a few years ago. Not long after, I read about the dangers of unflued gas heaters to young children and sold the heater and turned off the gas at the meter.