DIY solar pool heater

The greenest watt is the one you don't have to create. Energy efficiency is the low hanging fruit of greening our homes. Ask your questions or post your energy efficiency tips in here!

DIY solar pool heater

Postby rob_hi » Thu Nov 05, 2009 5:01 pm

G'day all,

I'm toying with idea of building my own solar hot water heater for my pool. I'm no expert on solar heating of water and might be barking up the wrong tree with my idea.

Having experience of backyard greenhouses and conservatories in cold climates, I know that they can become extremely hot even on a cold (<10c) day, so why not put solar collecting pipework inside a glass box ?. Direct exposure to the sun through glass would boost the heat significantly (according to my anecdotal evidence) compared to being exposed to the same sunlight but also the ambient air temperature and cooling breezes.

I reckon a long length of thin copper pipe (max pipe surface area per volume of water) in a "glass heat box" would bring the water up close to the air temperature in the box (40c + on any sunny day).

Anyone tried anything similar ?

cheers,
rob
rob_hi
Solar Supporter
Solar Supporter

Re: DIY solar pool heater

Postby Gordon-Loomberah » Thu Nov 05, 2009 5:40 pm

Some relations of mine used a big roll of black poly pipe to heat their pool back in the 80's. It worked quite well and cost very little to set up.

Gordon
http://gunagulla.com Loomberah weather and astronomy including live solar radiation intensity and UV + Gunagulla aquaponics, organic eggs and cherries
Gordon-Loomberah
Community Moderator

Postby Tracker » Thu Nov 05, 2009 7:43 pm

Yes - I have seen that done too..
just a big roll of poly-pipe and then spread it out like a spilt, pile of coins
(exposing all the loops) and then tie it down.. Aint beautiful but it works..
The neighbors can be told it's an "Artistic Creation" called the "Carbon Cycle"
Retired Engineer and keen PV experimenter - Always ready to learn and share.