New solar panels

New to renewable energy? Have questions? Here's a great place to ask them and view information about wind and solar power basics.

New solar panels

Postby crazyk » Wed Dec 28, 2016 7:59 pm

Hi all. I got my hands on the following for free and was wondering what the best setup would be. I'm only new to all this stuff but have lots of research to do and need a kick start.

What I want to use it for:
Run a 50L minibar fridge
Run all my garden lighting (yet to be installed)

Components
4x 12V 100ah Narada gel batteries
48v 1000w Pure wine wave inverter
2x Suntech STP300-24/Ve

So a couple of questions
Is 48v the best setup I should use
Can someone explain a bit about these solar panels. Can they be used to charge any voltage batteries?
What charge controller should I be looking for?

Look forward to the replies.
crazyk
Solar Fanatic
Solar Fanatic

Re: New solar panels

Postby davidg » Wed Dec 28, 2016 8:23 pm

crazyk wrote:2x Suntech STP300-24/Ve

only 2. I suggest 3 panels in series for a 48V battery based system. 48V is a good voltage to use as the current involved should be quite low.

crazyk wrote:Is 48v the best setup I should use
Can someone explain a bit about these solar panels. Can they be used to charge any voltage batteries?
What charge controller should I be looking for?

A TRUE MPPT charge controller, I suggest a 120V+ solar input version with a 30A 48V output to suit the battery pack. Ensure you program the controller with the correct battery details.

Either, Midnite Solar (excellent) or Victron BlueSolar (very good), both good quality charge controllers.

Ensure the idle current for the inverter is under 9 watts when nothing is drawing power from it, or it's very poor inverter to use off-grid.
Hybrid & Off-grid Systems - You could store Sun to use later- I Do!
SELECTRONIC SPMC-482 7.5kW, 7.2kW's of Arrays

with AC-Coupled Grid-Connected Inverters,
1100Ah 48V Bank

Auto Backup Genset
PVOutput Stats

We Sparkys light up your life :)