24volt wind generator-rectifier between generator & battery?

New to renewable energy? Have questions? Here's a great place to ask them and view information about wind and solar power basics.

24volt wind generator-rectifier between generator & battery?

Postby bergy » Mon Oct 31, 2016 9:18 pm

Hi, I am new to all of this.
I recently installed 3 * 250 watt panels coupled to a 2.4 kw off grid inverter and it is working a treat.
I decided to add a 24volt 1500 watt 60 amp with max volt output dc 36 volts wind generator to add more imput to my batteries.
I have recently received my generator and are in the process of adding it to my system.
On doing some research i have discovered that i can't connect the wind power into the inverter but instead direct into the batteries.Then i purchased a wind controller and power dump (water heater )
I was concerned at the wiring diagram for the controller which shows the wind power going direct into the batteries before going to the relay for the overcharge dump.
I then discovered that some recommend the inclusion of a rectifier before the controller.
My question is ,Is this the correct process, If yes where do i source a 24 volt rectifier
Is there any diagram i can research to confrm the correct wiring to avoid a meltdown.
Thanks in anticipation
Brian
Last edited by Gordon-Loomberah on Thu Nov 03, 2016 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: edited subject to fit in the available space
bergy
Solar Supporter
Solar Supporter

Re: 24volt wind generator rectifier between generator and ba

Postby Gordon-Loomberah » Mon Oct 31, 2016 9:36 pm

Hi Brian, a few questions will help understand your situation a bit better:
what capacity is your 24V battery?
What are you using as a charge controller for the solar panels?
What brand and model is the wind generator?