Solar training course for the uneducated

New to renewable energy? Have questions? Here's a great place to ask them and view information about wind and solar power basics.

Solar training course for the uneducated

Postby Bman » Sat Oct 08, 2016 12:10 am

Hope this isn't stepping on anyone's toes...
Due to being in a relatively isolated place in regards to where courses are being held and the high cost of some courses and travel, accommodation etc, I went looking for a course or training package that I could do online.
As a mechanic, I know very little about PV systems so fairly basic training was needed.
A lot of the free guides are helpful, but very very basic. I wanted to know enough to understand what was going to happen and what questions I need to ask when I move down to SA from QLD into our unconnected house. I can't call it "off grid" yet as there is no system there yet.
Most of what I could find was aimed at qualified tradespeople that needed to add or update skills.
Eventually I found a course by GSES. I have no connection with them, just found them on google...
I am in the early stages of doing the course and have found it to be EXACTLY what I was looking for.
Cost is just under $300. Seems pretty reasonable compared to what other courses are available.
I felt that when asking questions about solar, I didn't know what all the systems were, or the terminology and so the answers didn't make that much sense.
I appreciate that a lot of you guys are well versed in solar, but there are a few of us (im sure) that know jack smit, but maybe your answers won't fly over my head like a 747 now.
If its permitted, I can share the course info, if not...so be it
It might be another 12 months before we get to our home, yes its a home already, but now is a great time to gather the info/knowledge I will need.
Cheers
Bman
Solar Supporter
Solar Supporter

Re: Solar training course for the uneducated

Postby Gordon-Loomberah » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:23 am