Yellow Solar Panels

Getting into the nuts and bolts of wind and solar power components, installation and performance issues, ask technical questions, answers and tips

Yellow Solar Panels

Postby RJS » Wed Aug 25, 2010 10:56 am

I have a 1KW system 9 months old and when I climbed on roof to clean panels I found 5 panels had a creamy/yellow color substrate whilst the last one was white.This prompted me to check the serial numbers and the 5 colored ones had numbers within 100 of each other but the white one had a serial number some 9 million later.I am no rocket scientist but something here does'nt gel I feel that the 5 colored panels may be second hand.although the frames appear to be new.Has anyone else any ideas on this.
For obvious reasons I do not wish to name the brand of panel or the supplier.I did query the suppliers who assured me they were new panels but were at a loss to explain why different color and serial numbers.
RJS
Solar Supporter
Solar Supporter

Re: Yellow Solar Panels

Postby jono2b » Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:49 pm

It could possibly be a quality control problem in manufacturing, maybe you got a bad batch, or one with a slightly different material (manufacturers do change suppliers over time)

Were the panels always like this or has the color change happened over time?
Has there been any noticeable degradation in performance? If not I probably would just keep an eye on them and make sure it doesnt get worse. Unless you particularly care about the colour...
jono2b
Solar Evangelist
Solar Evangelist

Postby Gordon-Loomberah » Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:53 pm

Some of the relatively cheap panels I bought on ebay a couple of years ago have a slight yellow colour to them now, but their output is still good.
http://gunagulla.com Loomberah weather and astronomy including live solar radiation intensity and UV + Gunagulla aquaponics, organic eggs and cherries
Gordon-Loomberah
Community Moderator

Postby rg767 » Wed Aug 25, 2010 11:17 pm