My ebikes antics over the years

Into electric cars, hydrogen engines, biodiesel; in fact any sort of alternative fuel vehicle? Here's the place for you - questions, tips, resources and electric car/alternative fuel vehicle news.

My ebikes antics over the years

Postby offgridQLD » Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:34 am

I have been playing around with electric bikes for about 8 years now. I don't know what it is but I seem to have a habit of motorizing everything that comes into my possession. I found bikes to be a fun candidate.

E bike one was actually a snap decision eBay purchase when I was living in Melbourne. Most times I like to build things myself but this e bike was sold for under $100 less than I could gather materials for. I purchased the used e bike from a guy in Gelong who had imported it himself. He had way to many toys so some had to go.

The e bike was a Ezip made by Currie Technologies (a few years later they were actually sold in Kmart for about 6 months) Cheep Chinese Steel frame MTB with nasty rubbish components. Although the frame was over engineered. Over sized thick walled tubing and dam heavy. especially with 24v 12ah of Agm lead, A 25A Dc speed controller and a small Dc motor.The motor was a little MY1018 that has a reduction gearbox built into the motor case. It mounted just above the the rear axle on a a 5mm thick steel plate and drove the left side of the rear Hub through a sprocket and chain.The hub basically had a 7speed freewheel on the right and a single speed freewheel on the left. Enameling the bike to be peddled like normal without driving the motor. A hall-effect twist grip was used for the throttle .